top of page

Welcome to the big time...no pressure.


So we get into the room and while they usually do the announcements alphabetically by last name but this time they did it by classification. It goes from 0 (high spinal injury) to 3.5 (non spinal injury amputee) So I was the only 3.5 that came to this USA wheelchair rugby tryout. I knew 3 current team members were out with injuries. And only 4 spots were really available for new players. The coach begins to read down the list one at a time and I slowly slip into a daze. I think about the other guys there and all the time we played together over the week. I was so proud to be there and also so exhausted after about 40 miles of pushing, drills and running small armor covered wheelchairs into each other for 3 1/2 days. I wasn't even sure how many people had been called when they finally say, "...at 3.5 Paco Torres" I literally opened my eyes like this 😮 and then smiled. I was pretty numb in the moment. But was greeted by the greatest group of men that will be my teammates for the next year and hopefully into the future. You see, my place on the team lasts only as long as I make the team better and as the 16th player, the last alternate, I have to prove myself now more than ever. Making the team means nothing if I don't raise my quality of play to the world standard they expect and I am willing to do that. Thankfully my teammates in Tucson and the members of the team from this camp want me to succeed. Because as a team we all get better. And the sport of the IWRF only grows in popularity. Please, watch #Murderball and please go to your local wheelchair rugby tournaments. This is how you can truly support this sport and the great athletes. Thank you and bless you all.

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page